This morning , when I logged on to Rock.com Community , I was immediately attacked by a Malicious URL , which I took a screenshot of with my Greenshot program , an excellent freeware program for taking fast and easy screenshots .

  http://seachtop.com/gfeed/img/.../1_default.png  ( the Malicious URL )

 When I logged out , the Malicious URL attacked again , but when I Greenshotted it , it didn't save . Later , when I booted up Windows XP , I found that although Avast Anti-Virus had blocked said Malicious URL , it HAD managed to damage the Greenshot Program , removing the icon from the taskbar that initiates it , and jamming it in perpetual run somewhere . I tried re-installing Greenshot from the disc , but it refused to install due to it already running a process somewhere . I then went to Add/Remove programs to uninstall it , but it also refused to uninstall due to running a process .

 I went to Desktop and hit " ctrl/alt/delete " , which called up the Task Manager . I clicked on the Processes tab , found Greenshot in the list , and terminated the process .  Add/Remove Programs then successfully uninstalled Greenshot , and then it successfully re-installed from the disc .

 I hope this information will be of some help to anyone else experiencing similar collateral damage resulting from Malicious URL attacks .

 - THE  FRO !!!

 

 

 

Views: 13

Comment

You need to be a member of Rock.com Community to add comments!

Join Rock.com Community

Comment by MASTERBAKER™ on February 13, 2013 at 3:28pm

Why does rock.com keep this under their hat? They must know! Do they care? I think its fahked up they dont put out a memo or some shit. Par for the course I guess???


Rock Star
Comment by THE FRO !!! on February 13, 2013 at 2:19pm

 My Anti-Virus software automatically updates it's definitions every four hours . Off-line , I ran a full system scan - clean as a whistle . Went on line , immediately downloaded a fresh definitions update , and logged on to Rock.com E-Mail a few seconds later . Logged out of E-Mail and onto Community immediately without leaving Rock.com Home Page and within ten seconds , Malicious URL with newborn Trojan probing me portal . So there's not much question as to the origin of the feces .

 - THE  FRO !!!

Comment by MASTERBAKER™ on February 13, 2013 at 5:41am

Thanks for the info FRO!!! Ran a scan and everything tickity boo here. Whats the world coming to when people come on to a site to intentionally infect others computer!

KILL EM ALL!


Rock Star
Comment by THE FRO !!! on February 13, 2013 at 3:37am

 AND it screwed me in the Java Script with a brand new Trojan . Hooray ! The SpamBots score a two-pointer .

 - THE  FRO !!!

Get YourName@Rock.com!

Blog Posts

Tony Iommi Talks About Bill Ward’s Absence

Posted by News on May 24, 2013 at 5:27pm 0 Comments

After months of speculation, the world now knows why the Black Sabbath reunion was absent one of…

Continue

Led Zeppelin Acetate Sells For $3600

Posted by News on May 24, 2013 at 5:20pm 0 Comments





A 45rpm two-sided metal acetate test copy of Led Zeppelin’s “Your Time is Gonna…

Continue

Metallica Riffs For New Album Are “Awesome.”

Posted by News on May 24, 2013 at 5:07pm 0 Comments





Metallica has enough material for a new album, they’ve revealed, but they’re still…

Continue

Photos

Loading…
  • Add Photos
  • View All

© 2013   Created by Rock.com.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service